Tidal uploads rarities from Prince's back catalogue

No Comments

Jay Z’s streaming service marks what would have been the singer’s 58th birthday with 15 album strong collection of B-sides and unreleased recordings

Tidal uploads rarities from Prince's back catalogue
Almost 3m Prince songs were bought in the five days after his death in April. Photograph: Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images

Anyone still unsure about a Tidal subscription may be swayed by its latest addition: a large portion of rarities from the Prince back catalogue.

The streaming service is celebrating what would have been Prince’s 58th birthday today by uploading 15 of his albums. Including B-sides and rarities as well as unreleased recordings and live albums spanning 1987 to 1996, the latest offering from Tidal starts at The Black Album and ends with Girl 6 – Official.

While the late musician previously endorsed Jay Z’s subscription service, offering Tidal his albums Hitnrun and Hitnrun Phase Two as exclusives, he removed all his music in 2015. His 40-plus albums are now on Tidal, in addition to this new batch of uploads.

“After one meeting, it was obvious that Jay Z and the team he has assembled at TIDAL recognize and applaud the effort that real musicians put in2 their craft 2 achieve the very best they can at this pivotal time in the music industry,” Prince said during the release of his Hitnrun in August 2015. “TIDAL have honored Us with a non-restrictive arrangement that once again allows Us to continue making art in the fashion We’ve grown accustomed 2 and We’re Extremely grateful 4 their generous support.”

Following Prince’s death from an opioid overdose on 21 April, the artist has seen a surge of interest in his music. Five days after his death, 2.8m Prince songs had been purchased, with Purple Rain, When Doves Cry, and Little Red Corvette his top sellers.

Tidal’s new batch of Prince albums:

  • The Black Album (1987)
  • The Gold Experience (1995)
  • Chaos & Disorder (1996)
  • Crystal Ball (1998)
  • 1999: The New Master (1999)
  • Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic (1999)
  • Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic (2001)
  • The Rainbow Children (2001)
  • One Nite Alone … Live! (2002)
  • One Nite Alone … The Aftershow: It Ain’t Over (2002)
  • Indigo Nights (2008)
  • The New Power Generation
  • Exodus (1995)
  • New Power Soul (1998)
  • Various
  • 1-800-NEW-FUNK (1994)
  • Girl 6 – Official (1996)

Categories: Show Biz

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.